Skip Navigation LinksPhysiotherapy-and-Rehabilitation

Department of Secondary School Areas Education

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Department of Secondary School Areas Education

 The Department of Secondary School Areas Education is a department which aims to produce teachers for institutions at the secondary education level. The department coordinates two undergraduate programs, namely Turkish Language and Literature Teacher Education Program and Mathematics Teacher Education Program.


It is of utmost importance for the department to produce highly qualified teacher candidates who are competent in their profession, have ethical values and contemporary qualities of the intellectual individual. Therefore, in addition to area specific and professional development courses, there are also various elective courses offered in the departments. Moreover, apart from courses, students can also participate in various social and scientific activities organized for them.

The medium of instruction is Turkish in the programs. However, there are opportunities for students to achieve a high level of proficiency in a foreign language as well.

These programs are of five years in duration in which graduates earn the title of Master's degree without Thesis.

Upon successful completion of the programs, the graduates gain qualified teacher status who are entitled to work in public and private high schools as well as in private tutoring instututions as subject teachers.


Program NameDegreeDuration (Years)

Contact Information


Eastern Mediterranean University
Faculty of Education 
Department of Secondary School Areas Education
Famagusta, North Cyprus
Mersin 10 Turkey 

Tel: +90 392 630 3019
Fax: +90 392 630 4038


Academic Staff

Name SurnameDutyDepartmentOfficeTel

Part-time Academic Staff

Name SurnameDutyDepartmentOfficeTel